Mongolian visa information

Mongolia Visa Information

Foreign nationals who wish to visit Mongolia must obtain visas of appropriate types corresponding to the purpose of their visit. Nationals of those countries which have concluded visa exemption agreements with Mongolia are not required to obtain a visa if the intended period of the visit is not beyond the period allowed under such arrangements. In order to apply for a visa, you must submit your visa application at a Mongolian diplomatic mission (Embassy/Consulate).

General Requirements for Obtaining a Mongolian Visa

Tourist visa • Completed application form

• Passport in original (must be valid for a minimum of six months before your intended travel to Mongolia)

• 3.5x4.5cm photo (the size of the photo is mandatory)

• A copy of hotel booking or accommodation information in Mongolia

• A copy of flight/train tickets

• Proof of sufficient funds, i.e. bank statements for the recent six months (if necessary)

• The visa fee is to be paid upon submission of the application. The fee is non-refundable.

On Arrival Visa Information

  1. Tourists who are coming from European countries where there is no Mongolian diplomatic presence are eligible to obtain on-arrival visa at the airport in Ulaanbaatar or Mongolian border points.
  2. Transit visa can also be applied at Mongolian borders if the applicant is coming from European countries where there is no Mongolian diplomatic presence and has an onward flight/train ticket or obtained a visa if applicable, of the country he or she plans to visit immediately after Mongolia. (Transit visa allows for a stay up to 10 days in Mongolia)

List of Visa Free Countries

NoCountryPassport Types covered by agreementDuration of stayDate of entry into force
1The Republic of PhilippinesAll passportsUp to 21 days1994.05.13
2MalaysiaAll passportsUp to 30 days1994.06.06
3The Republic of KazakhstanAll passportsUp to 90 days1994.12.02
4The State of IsraelAll passportsUp to 30 days1996.03.12
5Hong Kong SAR (China)All passportsUp to 14 days1998.06.18
6The Kyrgyz RepublicAll passportsUp to 90 days1999.12.04
7Ukraine*All passports /with official invitation/Up to 90 days-
8The United States of AmericaAll passportsUp to 90 days2001.07.06
9The Republic of CubaAll passportsUp to 30 days2001.10.08
10Macau SAR (China)All passportsUp to 90 days2004.07.03
11The Lao People’s Democratic RepublicAll passportsUp to 30 days2007.09.14
12The Kingdom of ThailandAll passportsUp to 30 days2008.01.13
13JapanAll passportsUp to 30 days2010.04.01
14The Federal Republic of GermanyAll passportsUp to 30 days2013.09.01
15The Republic of BelarusAll passportsUp to 90 days2013.09.04
16The Republic of TurkeyAll passportsUp to 30 days2013.10.10
17The Republic of SerbiaAll passportsUp to 90 days2013.11.08
18CanadaAll passportsUp to 30 days2014.01.01
19The Russian FederationAll passportsUp to 30 days2014.11.14
20The Federative Republic of BrazilAll passportsUp to 90 days2015.09.21
21The Republic of SingaporeAll passportsUp to 30 days2017.06.08
22The Argentine RepublicAll passportsUp to 90 days2018.02.19
23Oriental Republic of UruguayAll passportsUp to 30 days2018.06.10
24The Republic of ChileAll passportsUp to 90 days2018.12.29